Fall 2016

Mosaikashop News

Montréal célébrera son 375e anniversaire en 2017, commençons par ça!

Montreal is celebrating its 375th Birthday in 2017, let’s start to before!

IMG_6643

Appel à tous

Mosaïkashop est fière d’organiser une exposition collective ayant pour thème Montréal, du 2 au 6 décembre, à la Galerie ERGA sur la rue St-Laurent. Les oeuvres doivent être soumises avant le 30 novembre , 17h.

Comme à chaque Noël, Mosaïkashop organise une fête au profit de Médecins Sans Frontières ou les revenu d’un volet de l’ expo-vente  sont remis à MSF. Montréal en sera le thème de cette année. Vous êtes invités à soumettre une oeuvre quel qu’en soit le format. Pour votre participation vous recevrez un petit cadeau spécial et un coupon de participation à la tombola. SVP vous inscrire par courriel avant le 20 novembre. suzanne@mosaikashop.com

Open Call

Mosaikashop is proud to organize a collective exhibition on the theme of Montreal at Galerie-Erga on St. Laurent from December 2 to 6th: submission of works by November 30, 5pm.

As every year, for Christmas, Mosaikashop organizes an event for Doctor’s Without Borders with a side exhibition where all proceeds go to DWB. This year’s side exhibition theme is Montreal. You are invited to submit a mosaic of any size. For your participation you will receive a special thank-you gift and a ticket for the tombola. Please rsvp your participation: suzanne@mosaikashop.com, via email please by November 20th.

100_2792

Je voudrais dire un gros merci à Constance, Gina et Jeanine de m’avoir remplacée durant mon absence. Mosaïkashop était vivante et en pleine activité durant les cours réguliers et les ateliers libres.

I want to give a big thank-you to Constance, Gina and Jeannine for taking my place during my absence. Mosaikashop was alive and rolling with its regular classes and open studio times.

blogJanvier2015

Fermons l’année avec éclat! Nos cours “méthode Mosaïka” sont remplis pour octobre et novembre. L’horaire 2017 sortira bientôt. Pour les dates de nos autres cours, cliquez ici.

https://mosaikashop.wordpress.com/classescours-2/

The season is coming to a close with a bang! Our October and November classes on the ‘Mosaika Method’ are full, the new dates for 2017 will be out soon. For the dates of our other classes click above.

Quelle sera la prochaine destination de Luca Barberini?

Where is Luca Barberini traveling to next?

luca

Notre dernier invité international sera Luca Barberini, il reste quelques places pour son cours du 12 et 13 décembre. Suivez ce lien pour un complément d’information.

https://mosaikashop.wordpress.com/2016/10/30/additional-dates-with-luca-barberini-dates-supplementaires-avec-luca-barberini/

Our last international guest of the year is Luca Barberini. There is still some places left for his December 12 and 13 class. Click above for all the information.

 

100_1810

Je suis très fière de donner mon populaire atelier de décorations de Noël

Jeudi le 15 décembre 14h30-16h30 et 18h-20h

Vendredi 16 décembre 12h-14h

Samedi 17 décembre 10h30-12h30

Jeudi 22 décembre de 14h30-16h30 et 18h-20h

Réservez votre place dès maintenant!

suzanne@mosaikashop.com

L’atelier est 40$. Vous créerez 2 décorations en utilisant des millefiori et plusieurs de mes trésors personnels. Je transmets tous mes secrets pour la création de décorations très originales. Cet atelier de Noel c’est devenu une tradition chez Mosaïkashop! Du thé et des petits biscuits seront servis. Apportez vos propres timbres, photo et perles si vous voulez personnaliser votre travail. Mes décorations personnelles seront exposées pour stimuler votre inspiration !

Christmas is in the air I am proud to host my ever-so-popular Christmas Ornament Workshop….Reserve your spot now for my Christmas Ornament workshop! 

Thursday December 15 from 2:30pm-4:30pm and 6pm -8pm

Friday December 16, 10:30am-12:30pm

Thursday December 22, 2 :30-4 :30pm and 6-8pm

Reserve your spot now!

suzanne@mosaikashop.com

The workshop is $40. You will create 2 ornaments using millefiori and many of my treasures. I transmit all my secrets in creating a most original ornament. This workshop  has become a Mosaikashop tradition!  Tea and cookies will be served. Bring your own stamps, photos, beads if you like to personalize your work. My exclusive personal Christmas ornament works will be on show to help inspire you!

LES MOIS D’AOUT-SEPTEMBRE-OCTOBRE

THE AUGUST-SEPTEMBER-OCTOBER MONTHS

img_6078-animation1

L’été et l’automne ont été un tourbillon du début à la fin! Comme plusieurs le savent déjà, mon amour pour l’Italie et ses habitants est infini. Juste avant de revenir à Montréal j’ai fait un court arrêt à Ravenne pour y rencontrer tous ces artistes de la mosaïque qui m’inspirent et me sont chers. C’est toujours un plaisir que passer du temps avec eux. Je vous donne un petit scoop, dans un avenir rapproché, je vais collaborer de plus en plus avec eux…restez à l’affût!

It has been a whirlwind summer and fall coming to an end. As many of you know my love for Italy and its peoples is endless. Just before returning to Montreal my last stopover was Ravenna to see all the mosaic artists who inspire me and are very dear to me. It is always a  treat to spend some time with them. I let you in on a little insider, I will be collaborating with them even more in the near future…stay tuned.

ENZO TINARELLI de retour à Montréal..

TINARELLI back in Montreal …

img_7487-collage

J’ai été ravie de revenir en compagnie d’Enzo Tinarelli notre invité d’octobre, un homme d’esprit et de grand talent. Tinarelli nous a offert 2 cours différents et une conferance.

I was delighted to come back with our latest guest in October, Enzo Tinarelli to start off the season with his great spirit and talent. Tinarelli offered 2 different classes and a conferance.

Stage 1: La méthode de Ravenne

CLASS 1: The Ravenna Method

img_7439-collage1

img_7573-collage

Le premier cours traitait de la méthode classique de Ravenne.

The first class was all about the classic Ravenna method.

img_7439-collage

Comme vous pouvez le constater ici, la pizza donne de l’énergie et dépose un sourire sur toutes les lèvres.

As you can see here pizza also brings a smile and energy to all.

STAGE 2: De la matière à la mosaique

CLASS 2: From Matter to Mosaic

img_7527-collage

Le deuxième cours se concentrait sur la matière et la manière de travailler l’abstraction

The second class was all about matter and working abstract.

img_7559-collageEt là encore, la pizza a le même effet!

As you can see pizza has the same effect.

Où était Suzanne de septembre à août. En Italie bien sûr!

Where was Suzanne from September to August? Italy, of course!

img_6930-collage

Ce fut un honneur pour moi de collaborer à organiser 2 ateliers de mosaïque avec Artefact.  Le sujet était “sfumatture”, les dégradés de couleurs selon la technique utilisée par les maîtres de l’École de Splilimbergo. Les matinées étaient dédiées à la mosaïque et les après-midis à la visite. Les étudiants choisissaient de se joindre au groupe ou de vaquer librement.

It was an honor for me to collaborate with Artefact to organize two mosaic workshops on a specific technique used by the masters of the Scuola of Spilimbergo, the theme was sfumatture, color gradations. Mornings were dedicated to mosaics and theory of colour and the afternoons for visits. People were free to come a long or go their own way in the afternoon…

img_6994-collage

img_7091-collage

Le groupe 1, notre visite à l’école de Spilimbergo et à la fabrique de smalti Dona

Group 1 and our visit to the school of Spilimbergo and to Dona’, fabricators of smalti.

img_7107-collage

Le groupe 1 une douce visite dans les jardins d’Orsoni et à Murano…

Group 1 a sweet visit in the gardens of Orsoni and to Murano…

img_7099-collage-collage

Groupe 1 qui travail fort pour finir leur travail pour  pouvoir encore visiter…

Group 1 working hard to finish so they can visit more…

img_7212-collage

img_7212-animation

Groupe 2, les visites ont varié légèrement, je proposais et les étudiants choisissaient en tant que groupe.

Group 2 the visits varied slightly as I would propose and people would choose as a group or to go on their own solo…total freedom in the afternoons.

img_6945-collage

Merci Artefact! J’espère travailler encore avec vous en 2017…détails à venir bientôt sur notre blog.

Thank-you Artefact I look forward to working with you again in 2017…details coming out soon on the Mosaikashop News Blog.

Exposer mes mosaiques parmis les tapis anciens..

Exhibiting my mosaic works amongst oriental rugs…

img_6699-collage

Comme beaucoup le savent, je fais aussi partie du monde merveilleux des tapis orientaux. J’étais invitée à exposer quelques-unes de mes oeuvres à Sartiana mais je devais auparavant faire un saut de puce à Ravenne pour aller les récupérer. Le séjour fut bref mais charmant! J’ai eu la chance de rencontrer un marchand de tapis de Ravenne, exposant aussi à Sartiana, nous avons fait la route ensemble vers l’exposition. Un immense merci à Seddittin et quel plaisir de rencontrer votre famille! J’ai aussi passé de précieux moments avec Valérie Ercolani, j’aurai de grosses nouvelles à vous annoncer bientôt…

As many of you know I also take part of this lovely world of Oriental Rugs. I was invited to exhibit some of my works in Sartirana but in order to do so I had to do a quick layover in Ravenna to pick up some of my works for the show, the stay was short but sweet!  I was fortunate to have a rug dealer from Ravenna, who was also exhibiting in Sartirana, to give me a lift for the show. Thank-you so much Seddittin and it was a pleasure to meet you family! I also spent some very precious moments with Valeria Ercolani big news to be announced soon…

img_6838-collage

À Sartiana, ce fut un plaisir de retrouver mes amis Facebook, marchands et collectionneurs de tapis, et de m’en faire de nouveaux.

In Sartirana it was a delight to be amongst my facebook rug dealers and collectors friends and to make new friends.

img_6777-collage

Mon exposition se faisait en collaboration avec Lara Simonof, ses peintures sont merveilleuses. Quel plaisir pour moi de découvrir une mosaïque de Marcello Pirro dans le château voisin de l’exposition. Le tapis S que vous voyez ici m’est très cher…vous saurez pourquoi en 2017. On m’a aussi invitée à donner une causerie sur mes oeuvres.

My exhibition was in collaboration with Lara Simonof, her paintings are precious. It was also a delight to find a mosaic in the castle next to the exhibition by Marcello Pirro. The S rug you see here is very precious to my heart…you will find out why in 2017. I was also invited to speak about my works.

The chateau est la maison d’une collection quasi secrète!

The castle is home to a practical secret collection!

chateau

Ce château est un secret bien gardé, personne ne connaît l’existence de cette incroyable collection de vêtements “vintage”, peintures et objets design. Visite obligée! J’exposerai de nouveau à Sartiana en septembre prochain.

The castle is like a secret, no one knows about the most incredible collection of vintage clothes, paintings and design object it houses. It is a must visit! Next September I will be exhibiting again at Sartirana.

Prochain arrêt: UDINE

Next stop: UDINE

img_6596-collage J’avais 2 jours de libres et je ne me décidais pas où aller…alors j’ai accepté avec plaisir une invitation pour une visite éclair à Udine en compagnie de Giulio Menossi et son groupe d’étudiants. On m’a offert le travail de “chauffeur” vers Aquilia où mes yeux ont été éblouis par de merveilleuses mosaïques.

I had 2 days where I couldn’t decide where to go…so I happily accepted a whirlwind visit invitation to Udine to spend some days with Giulio Menossi and his group of students. I was offered a job as driver to Aquilia where I was delighted to feast my eyes on some most amazing mosaics.

img_6620-collage

Je n’ai pu résister, au lunch, à manger mes sardines avec un soin méticuleux afin que je puisse utiliser cette photo amusante pour un futur collage en souvenir!

For lunch I could not resist to eat my sardines in a most meticulous way so I can take this amusing photo for a souvenir collage photo!

img_6685-collage

Mon dernier repas à Udine fut unique. Merci Rosa et Giulio pour votre accueil toujours aussi chaleureux.

My last meal in Udine was most unique. Thank-you Giulio and Rosa for welcoming as always into your home.

FLORENCE

img_6427-collage

Je suis allée 5 jours à Florence, mais pas juste pour visiter…Mes mosaïques étaient chez Alberto Boralevi où elles étaient exposées parmi sa collection de tapis anciens, il m’a gentiment offert d’aller les porter en voiture à Sartirana pendant que je continuais ma tournée. J’ai aussi rencontré mafamille et les amis.

I went to Florence for 5 days, not just for a visit…I had delivered my mosaics to a Alberto Boralevi where I exhibited my works before amongst his collection of antique rug and he generously offered to take my works by car for me to Sartirana while I continue my tour. During my stay I visited friends and my family too.

SARDEGNE

SARDINIA

img_5759-collage

img_5885-collage

La Sardaigne a été le premier point fort de ce voyage. J’ai été honorée d’être invitée par Giulio Menossi à participer au premier Symposium international de la mosaïque en Sardaigne, Italie. J’y prenais part avec 9 autres artistes internationaux. Quelle expérience enrichissante et quelle chance unique! Nous avons travaillé pendant 2 semaines tous les jours. Les dimanches étaient réservés à la visite d’autres villes, villages et sites intéressants.

The first highlight of this trip was Sardinia. I was honored to be invited by Giulio Menossi to be part of the First International Mosaic Symposium in Sardinia, Italy. I was amongst 9 other international artists. It was an enriching and unique opportunity. For 2 weeks, everyday,  we worked, Sundays we had off and took advantage to visit other towns and sights.

img_6078-animation2

img_6076-collage

img_6103-collage

La Dea Madre (déesse mère) était le thème du symposium. Pour mon travail, je me suis inspirée des tapis traditionnels de la région et pour la Dea Madre au centre de ma mosaïque, je l’ai créée après avoir vu un court-métrage sur les vêtements traditionnels, faits main, des femmes habitant la région montagneuse du Desolo. La citation a aussi été prise dans le court-métrage mais je l’ai inscrite dans le dialecte de la région où j’étais, Ploaghe.

Pour le visionner: https://www.nowness.com/series/portrait-of-a-place/andrea-pecora-desula

J’ai découvert ce court-métrage par hasard après avoir reçu l’invitation de Menossi, je n’avais pas le choix, je sentait que je devais l’intégrer à mon oeuvre. Le motif du tapis me vient d’un tapis de la collection d’Alberto Boralevi de Florence. Par lui j’ai appris que la Sardaigne avait une tradition dans la fabrication des tapis. J’ai donc fait se rencontrer toutes ces inspirations dans ma mosaïque sous la direction flamboyante de Giulio Menossi qui m’a fait briser toutes mes règles! Voici le résultat.

The theme of the symposium was the Dea Madre. My work was inspired by traditional rugs from the area and as the Dea Madre in the center of my mosaic I was inspired by a short film about the women’s traditional handmade clothes from the women living in the mountainous region of Desolo. The quote on the mosaic is taken from the short film but I wrote it in the dialect of where I was, Ploaghe.

See it here: https://www.nowness.com/series/portrait-of-a-place/andrea-pecora-desula

The short film I discovered by chance after receiving the invitation from Menossi, so it just had to be part of my work. The design of the rug comes from a rug from the collection of Alberto Boralevi in Florence. Through him I learned that Sardinia has a tradition of rug making. So in my works I mosaiced these encounters together under the flamboyant direction Giulio Menossi who made me break all my rules! You see here the results.

img_6179-collage

Mes commanditaires sont propriétaires d’un restaurant extraordinaire, la Locanda di Antonia, que vous pouvez apercevoir en haut à gauche.

My sponsers are owners of a wonderful restaurant, La Locanda di Antonia whom you can see here on the top left.

img_5965-collage

Je me suis fait beaucoup d’amis et j’ai été particulièrement charmée par la visite presque quotidienne des ces enfants si attachants et par la visite de l’atelier d’une femme qui tisse dans sa maison des tapis traditionnels de sa région.

Many new friends were made and I was especially delighted with the daily visit, at some point, of these most charming children and a visit to a woman’s studio in her home where she weaves traditional rugs from the region.

img_5800-collage

Plusieurs personnes m’ont offert un coup de main, un homme m’a aidée en coupant quelques morceaux et Giulio m’a été vraiment utile dans les moments où je me sentais extrément fatiguée. Je lui ai dit de prendre la relève pour quelque temps, il a tout mêlé ces points que j’avais délicatement peints à la main sur les bords de ma mosaïque, ça m’a fait rire!

Many people offered a helping hand in my work, I had a  man help cut some  pieces for me and Giulio was very helpful in a moment where I was feeling extremely  tired, I just told him to take over at some point, he  messed up all those carefully painted dots I had done on the side of the mosaic, it made me laugh!

En 2017 je prévois organiser un voyage unique en Sardaigne en collaboration avec Giulio Menossi et La Locanda, je vous donnerai les détails bientôt…à suivre.

In 2017 I plan to organize a very unique trip to Sardinia in collaboration with Giulio Menossi and La Locanda,  stay tuned for the details coming out soon.

Le mot de la fin

Final Words

Je suis fière de vous annoncer que mon histoire, parmi celles d’autres femmes, racontant comment j’en suis venue à faire ma profession sera publiée. Après 2 ans de travail, le livre paraîtra en novembre. Je tiens à remercier Kristin qui a sauvé ma vie d’éditrice  en m’aidant en 2015 à passer de plus de 8000 mots à 3000. Du gros travail! Un merci tout spécial à Samia Spencer, éditrice du livre, qui a tant insisté pour que je fasse partie du livre car elle est tombée en amour avec la mosaïque et mon histoire. Je suis fière de faire rayonner la mosaïque de cette manière.

I am proud to announce to you that my story, amongst other women’s stories, of how I got into my profession is being published. It has been 2 years in the works and the book will be out in November. I want to thank Kirsten for saving my life in the most difficult year of writing I had in 2015 and 2016, by helping me with the editing of my 8000 plus words,  which had to go down to 3000 words, it was a big job indeed. I especially want to thank Samia Spencer, editor of the book, for insisting I be part of the book as she felt so enamored with my profession and story. I am proud to be able to make mosaics known to the world in this manner.

bookcover

back-book

Voici pour vous le couvert et la 4e de couverture du livre. Si vous désirez acheter un exemplaire signé, SVP m’écrire:  suzanne@mosaikashop.com. J’annoncerai le prix du livre sur Facebook dès que possible. Il vous sera aussi possible d’acheter le livre sur Amazon. Tous les profits de ce livre iront  à 2 organismes égyptiens de charité. Le titre de mon chapitre est intitulé: My Journey Into Mosaics: Turning A Childhood Fantasy Into Fine Artistic Works (le livre est en anglais)

Here for you is the preview of the front and back cover of the book: Daughters of the nile: Egyptian women changing their world.  If you would like to purchase a signed copy please email me: suzanne@mosaikashop.com. I will announce the price of the book on Facebook as soon as I know it. You will also be able to purchase via Amazon. All profits of this book will go to 2 Egyptian charities.

My chapter is entitled:

My Journey Into Mosaics: Turning A Childhood Fantasy Into Fine Artistic Works

Suzanne